About Us | Northern Regions Cross Country Championship

Northern Regions Cross Country Championship

Welcome to the home of The Northern Regions Cross Country Car Championship

About Us


The Northern Region Cross Country Car Championship (NRCCC) caters for cross country car racing at grass roots levels, and serves a vital function as a feeder series for the National Cross Country Championship. The 2018 Championship is made up of seven races in and around Gauteng and the North West and Freestate Provinces. The season starts in February and runs through to November with events catering for cross country cars in the Production (Classes D and E) and Special Vehicle (Classes B and P) categories.

In addition to the 4 Regional Classes there is a Club Class that caters for Production Vehicles (Class Z) for the older type or entry level cross country vehicles. New for 2018 is the introduction of Class X  (X- Challenge, pronounced Cross Challenge) that caters for cars currently complying with the specifications as set out for Classes A (Special Vehicles), S and T (both Production vehicles), as well as the older Class SP Production vehicles.  Two of the seven events are held in conjunction with the National Cross Country Championship and these ‘combined’ races consist of 1 loop of approximately 250km. The other five events are hosted by Northern Regions Motor Clubs in the North West and Freestate Provinces. These events typically consist of a prologue of approximately 50km, followed by the race of 2 loops of approximately 100km each. Total race distance including prologue should be around 250km. 2018 will see the 4th year of the Regional “Marathon” event, the Barberspan 500. This race will be held over two days with a total race distance of 500km and double points will be on offer.  To view or download the 2018 Regulations, please click on this link – http://nrccc.co.za/wp-content/uploads/2017/12/2018-Northern-Regions-Cross-Country-Regs-Final.pdf

The NRCCC is a fully sanctioned Motorsport South Africa (MSA) championship and is governed by all the regulations applicable in the General Competition Rules (GCR’s) and Standing Supplementary Regulations (SSR’s) contained in the 2017 MSA Handbook as well as the 2018 Northern Regional Regulations and other MSA circulars pertaining to cross country racing.

The aim of the championship is to provide quality cross country car events to competitors in a fair and safe environment. This entitles us to declare class and category champions at the end of the year and to recognise class and category runners ups and third place finishers.

This website is designed to keep competitors and other interested parties up to date with developments in the Northern Regions Cross Country Car Championship.


Affiliated Clubs


Contact person and number: 083 743 8847 or Jannie Visser 082 783 5017
Email address: bmk01@live.co.za
Web or Facebook link: https://www.facebook.com/groups/111004921139/10152120869596140/?notif_t=group_activity Club
Established: 1973
Club address: PO Box 849 Delareyville 2770
Club Chairman: Jannie Visser
Club Secretary: Annelize Le Roux
Membership application


pic_offroadOFF ROAD SA – ORSA

Contact person and number: Adri Roets 0825522689
Email address: orsa.klub@gmail.com
Web or Facebook link: n/a
Established: The Club was established as Sun Motorsport in 1979 then became Sun Bop Motorsport, then in 1990 Sun City Motorsport and in 1994 Off Road SA.
Club address: PO Box 16 Boshoek 0301
Club Chairman: Adri Roets
Club Secretary: Linda Roets
Membership application



Contact person and number: Anelize van der Linde 072 438 4022
E mail address: ltx.motorklub@gmail.com
Web or Facebook link: https://www.facebook.com/SCCLMC.club?fref=ts
Established: February 1963
Club address: PO Box 726 Lichtenburg 2740
Club Chairman: Miggie van der Linde
Club Secretary: Anelize van der Linde
Membership application



Contact person and number: Victor Fincham 083 697 6796 or +267 74 886 077 & Tjaart Steyn 082 826 7263
E mail address: vryburgmotorclub@gmail.com
Facebook: Vryburg Motor Club
Club address: PO Box 4199 Vryburg 8600
Club Chairman: Victor Fincham
Vice President: Tjaart Steyn
Membership application